Was the ruling of an Asante Samuel Jr. interception clearly and obviously wrong?

From time to time, the powers-that-be on Park Avenue with the power to overturn on-field rulings in any and every stadium become tempted to use replay review as a fresh look at a play. 

The standard that supposedly applies can be forgotten.

The ruling on the field can be overturned only if clear and obvious evidence shows that a mistake was made.

Previously known officially as “indisputable visual evidence,” the bar has been informally described as “50 drunks in a bar” would agree that it was a bad call.

As to one of the most important plays of the Week Two game between the Chargers and the Chiefs, it’s fair to ask whether the league office applied the proper standard 

when determining that the ruling on the field of an interception by L.A. cornerback Asante Samuel Jr. was wrong.

It was a huge play. The Chargers led by 10. They would have had the ball at the Kansas City 30. The road team could have gone up by 17 and sent the home-team’s fans home early.

Said NFL senior V.P. of officiating Walt Anderson to pool reporter Joe Reedy after the game: 

“What we saw was that the ball did hit the ground and that he had not secured and maintained control of the ball after it hit the ground. 

We saw movement of the ball after it hit the ground, an then the ground ended up helping him re-secure it.”

Added Anderson: “The ball hit the ground as he was going down, and . . . he did not maintain control of the ball.”

For More Stories

Click Here